Chardonnay Soap

Standard

A few days ago I made a batch of wine soap using 3 Blind Moose Chardonnay.

This is wine from our central coast which has been producing some very high quality spirits. I tried to find some contact information for 3 Blind Moose so I could send them a bar, but alas, I had no luck. (3 Blind Moose, if you’re reading this, let me know if I can send you a bar!)

Anyway, the chardonnay started out a beautiful light golden color but didn’t stay that way long. As I added water and lye to the wine, it turned this gorgeous orange color:

If I didn’t know better, I would have thought this was beer.

I was really excited to mix all the ingredients together because I couldn’t wait to see what color this was going to turn out. I thought the soap would be a light yellow and had planned on mixing in some orange oxides (colorants) to give the bar a little extra character. This bar didn’t need any help with color. This is how it looked this evening when I pulled them out of the mold and cut them up:

These look like pumpkin pie filling.

These didn’t turn out at all like I thought they would, but I love them. They are scented with litsea cubeba (citrus smelling) and grapefruit essential oils. I am going to have them ready for a holiday show I’m doing and will also be including them in the beer & wine four pack sampler I’m putting together. Can’t wait to show them to you again when they’re ready!

-Camille

Leave a Reply

