With Sadness

Standard

As you all know, I’ve been in an herbal medicine class for the past year. Our last class was Saturday, and I’m still sad about it. This class was more than just learning about herbs. It was a celebration of all things sacred to women, a reclaiming of our voice in a world. Many of us have forgotten how women were the caretakers of not just their families, but of the earth as well. For thousands of years, women were connected to plants and listened to the earth’s needs and wants. Somewhere along the way, these skills were lost, and we as people suffer because of it.

For the past year, I’ve been fortunate enough to be surrounded by other like-minded women looking to become caretakers of the earth as medicine women. We are women who believe in the healing powers of the green world and are on a mission to spread the word. I hope some of you someday can take this class with Kami. It will change you in so many ways. 

In another post, I mentioned that we exchange little tokens on our last day of class. Here are some of the cute things that Kami and other students brought:

Pumpkin pie spice, candles, herbal teas, body butter sample

Guess which one Ms. Katherine brought?

How cute is this? She is just so creative!

Other students brought herbs and plants to share with the classmates. My classmate, Janet, even brought California poppy seeds for planting! How cool is that? Oh and before I forget, here is how the Medicine Woman soap turned out.

The green got greener, but I still got hit by the soap ash monster.

I also made these cute little four packs of soap for a few of my classmates and our teacher. (Yes, Katherine got one and yes, Dani, one is ready for you too.)

The four pack has a Simple Soap, Camille’s Blend, Good Morning Sunshine and Medicine Woman soap.

I’m still thinking about how much I’m going to miss my herbal classes and my herbal sisters. And with that said, I am signing off to go make some herbal fire cider.

My name is Camille and I am a plant person.

One response »

  1. Thank you, Camille, for the lovely soap! I love it, love it, love it.
    Never forget–not only are you a plant person, you are a medicine woman.
    Long may we continue to heal the earth, ourselves, and each other.

    Love from your good friend (whom misses you already)

    Kathryn

Leave a Reply

