St. John’s Wort Infused Oil

Standard

By now, you should know I love infused oils. They are so versatile to use and so easy to make. So when I got my hands on some dried St. John’s Wort, I immediately pulled out the jars and olive oil to make infused oil.

We studied St. John’s Wort in my herb class. It can be used topically for skin irritations such as burns, nerve pain, muscle spasms and even hemorrhoids. I am a fan of this particular herb oil infusion because I’m a first rate klutz. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve accidentally burned myself, tripped and hurt something, or even banged into door knobs.

From what I remember, fresh St. John’s Wort plant material makes a better infused oil than dry herb, but I’m not going to turn away the dried material.

First, fill the jar 1/3 full of the dried herb.

I know it looks like it’s more than 1/3 full, but it really is only a third.

Then fill your jar to the brim with the oil of your choice and seal.

Let it sit in a bright sunny place for at least 2 weeks. Even though I’m using dry plant material in this infusion, I still like to monitor what’s going on in the jar. Mold is not really an issue, but I like watching the sun and herbs do their magic.

The oil should turn a beautiful red color. I’ll post pictures to show you the progress as time goes on.

Camille

One response »

Leave a Reply

